If you want to know about what processes you can carry out, you can read about this in Your scheme processes.

If you log in to your account multiple times, perhaps on a different device and/or using same device but a different browser or window, the most recent log in will take over any previous log in. 

Your account 

Once you log in to Aegon Retirement Choices you can find your Account link at the top right of the page. This page holds all the details we have on you, your permissions, account security and preferences.  

If you have trouble accessing your account and you think it might be locked, speak to the employer administrator and ask them to unlock your account. If you don’t an employer administrator or they aren’t available, you can contact us and we’ll be happy to help.

To keep your account as secure as possible, you need to contact us if you want to change your first name, last name or date of birth.

You can update mobile number or work number from your Account screen. Just select Edit next to the number you want to update in the Contact details section. It’s important to note that if you change your mobile number in the Contact details section this won’t update it for two-factor authentication. Find out how to update your mobile number for two factor authentication.

If you need to update your email address speak to the employer administrator. Remember this will also change the email address you use to log in. If you don’t have an employer administrator or they aren’t available, you can contact us and we’ll be happy to help.

There are different permission types available.

Each permission will allow a user to carry out different tasks. To see what permission(s) you have log into your account and select Account at the top right. Then you should scroll to Permissions.

If you’re not able to carry out a task you think you should be able to this could be because you don’t have the right permissions. The employer administrator can add, or remove permissions from your account. If you don’t have an employer administrator or they aren’t available, you can contact us and we’ll be happy to help.

Keeping your account secure is important so at this section you can read about how to change your password, change the mobile number you use for two-factor authentication and manage your devices.

Depending on your permissions, you may be given the option to trust the device you’re using when you log in. You can trust up to five devices, if you try to trust additional devices, we’ll remove the oldest device automatically. If you’re using a trusted device, each time you log in within an 18 hour period, you won’t have to use two-factor authentication each time you log in. The next time you log in after 18 hours you’ll be asked to authenticate using two-factor authentication but you won’t be asked if you want to trust the device as it’s already on the list.

If you want to manage the devices you use to access your account, you can log in to your account and select Account at the top right. Then you should scroll to Account security and select Manage devices at the Your devices section.

To get the most out of your account you can manage your cookie and marketing preferences. To do this, log into your account and select Account at the top right. Scroll to the bottom of the page and select Manage preferences

Creating a new user’s account 

To create a new user you have to have the administration permission.

From your dashboard, select Manage users, from here you can select Create new user.

When creating a new user, if you have access to more than one scheme, we’ll ask you what schemes the new user should be able to access. You can only give users access to the schemes that you have access to. If there’s a scheme or schemes that you don’t have access to, you won’t be able to give another user access to this scheme. You’d need to find the employer administrator for that scheme to give the user access to the scheme.

You’ll also set what permissions the user can have. We’ll show you online the different permissions and what that allows the user to do.

By adding and removing scheme access and permissions you’re driving what schemes and tasks the user can and can’t do. If you don’t select any permissions against a scheme the user won’t see that scheme.

Once you’ve done that, we’ll automatically send the new user an email inviting them to activate their account. 

Managing another user’s account 

If you have the administration permission on your account this allows you to carry out certain tasks on other users in your firm. Read on to find out about managing another user’s account.

From your dashboard, select Manage users, from here you can select Search for and manage existing users. From there you’ll be able to carry out a search for the user and once you’ve found them you view their account.

In this section you can only update their email address, if the user’s account is active. Remember this will also change the email address the user uses to log in.

To keep their account as secure as possible the user will need to contact us if they want to change their first name, last name or date of birth.

A user can update their own mobile number or work number. 

You can control what schemes a user has access to as well as their permissions.

If your firm has more than one scheme, you can only give users access to the scheme(s) that you have access to. If there are others that you don’t have access to manage, you won’t be able to give another user access to it. The employer administrator for that scheme to give the user access.

If you update a user’s scheme access and/or permissions, this is an immediate update for the user.

By adding and removing scheme access and permissions you’re driving what schemes and tasks the user can and can’t do. If you don’t select any permissions against a scheme the user won’t see that scheme.

If the users device isn't available as their authentication method, you can select Reset authentication method. The next time the user logs in, we’ll ask them to select their authentication method.

You can view the status of a user’s account. The different statuses we have are:

  • Pending activation - this indicates the user has been sent an activation email but hasn't yet activated.
  • Active – the user has activated their account.
  • Locked – the user’s account is currently locked.
  • Inactive – the user’s account has been deactivated. 

If a user, no longer needs access to their account you should select Deactivate.

You can Send activation email to the user if their activation code has expired or perhaps, they’ve previously had their account deactivated but they now need access again.

And if they’re account has become locked, you just have to select Unlock at the Unlock account section.